Chicken Crust Pizza

Keto pizza with chicken crust

There are about a hundred ways to make crust for pizza when you’re on a ketogenic diet. Fat head, coconut, cauliflower… This is one that I thought that I would hate, but I didn’t. Dammit.

I got the original recipe/plan/theory from this link, but ended up modifying it because I didn’t have some of the stuff. Story of my life. And I wanted it bigger. This is what I did:

Chicken crust pizza 

Makes one 12″ pizza 

Ingredients:

  • 24 oz chicken breast, raw
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • One sprig rosemary
  • Garlic powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • Your preferred pizza toppings

Method:

I watched the video in the original link, and it was pretty helpful. Because I went with chicken breast, and not canned chicken, I went about it a little differently.

  1. Put the chicken and broth in a slow cooker with the rosemary. Cook it on high until the chicken is cooked through. I use a 2 qt slow cooker for about 3 hours from frozen. 
  2. Reserve the broth for another use. Throw out the rosemary. Alternatively, use about 13oz store-bought rotisserie chicken, light and dark meat is fine, doesn’t matter. 
  3. Using a regular blade, put the chicken in your food processor and pulse until finely ground. 
  4. Dump the chicken on to a 14″ pizza pan, spread out evenly,  and pop into a 400゚ oven for 10 minutes until it somewhat dries out. 
  5. Add chicken to a big mixing bowl with eggs, garlic powder, and parmesan cheese. Mix well. This is a time where it’s totally appropriate to use the cheese from a green can. You can really use any other kind of cheese you want, too. Go wild and add some other spices that would be appropriate for pizza: oregano, Italian seasoning… live it up! 
  6. Wipe off the same pizza pan you used for the chicken earlier and spray with nonstick spray. Spread the chicken mixture thinly on the pan pressing it evenly. It will seem like there’s not enough. There is. Keep pressing. 
  7. Put the crust in the oven (same temperature) and cook for 8 to 10 minutes. 
  8. Take the pizza crust out, add your toppings, and put it back in the oven for 5 to 8 minutes. 
  9. Cut. Eat. 

Now, the crust does shrink away from the edges which is why I call this a 12″ pizza, and not a 14″ pizza even though we’re using the 14″ pan. No, I don’t know why it does it, but it does it.

The real question is “Is this going to replace the almond flour and mozzarella fathead pizza crust recipe that I’ve been using up until now?” Well, maybe. But maybe not. They’re different enough crusts and different enough ingredients that I’ll keep both in my arsenal. I never know what ingredients I’ll have in my pantry.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

